DScaler Forum Index DScaler
Support Forum for the DScaler project
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

dscaler 3.x /4.x crashes when choosing tuner anc card?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DScaler Forum Index -> DScaler Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
waldemar
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 10:21 am    Post subject: dscaler 3.x /4.x crashes when choosing tuner anc card? Reply with quote

First, sorry about my bad english

Few months before I was using dscaler with abit bh6, cel 366@550, asus tnt2, win98se and pixelview TV pro video card, and everything was working great.

Then I replaced motherboard with msi kt3 ultra aru, duron 1200 and 256 ddr ram. All other programs work ok, but dscaler doesn't. When I start dscaler and choosing type of card and tuner (philips pal I ), dscaler freezes, and I have to kill it with ctrl alt del and end task in task menager.

Pixelview sofware works ok.

I hoped it will work with dsc 4, but it is same problem like with 3.x.

Thank you for your answers!

Waldamar
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all.

I have the same problem.

I managed to make a Pinnacle PCTV Rage card work on a ECS K7S5A board with a Duron 800 a few monts back, running Windows XP Pro, and using Eduardo JosÚ Tagle's drivers v5.3.0 and DScaler 3.10.

Using the same mainboard and a Duron 1000 on a friend's computer, also Win XP Pro, the driver would freeze the comp during install. I tried again with the previous setup and it worked, so I assumed it was something to do with my friend's configuration. BTW, it was the exact same Pinnacle card (same unit). I even exchanged the mainboard for another, and exchanged mem modules, etc...

Right now, I'm trying to make it (same Pinnacle unit) work on a ASUS A7V133 (PCB v1.05, BIOS v1008A) mainboard. I installed Windows 2000 Pro SP2, and VIA's 4in1 4.40p3 drivers.
The drivers (v5.3.0 and 5.3.2) do install, only thing strange is that mouse buttons stop working after install. I do a reboot, all seems ok until I try to config DScaler (v3.10 or 3.12). The Pinnacle PCTV Rage is based on Bt878 and a Temic (brand on sticker is Frontend) 4106 FH5 tuner. DScaler doesn't have the 4106 FH5 on its list, but it worked before using the 4006 FH5, if I remember correctly. When I click OK, it just freezes! Needs a reset.

I used a small capture utility available on Eduardo JosÚ Tagle's driver page to test the drivers, and they do work. So I assume it has something to do with DScaler, maybe something to do with more powerful and faster processors, or the way PCI works on newer boards, but these are just guesses. If I use a different tuner, it continues, but as soon as I try to tune, it stops responding (but not Windows).

BTW, Pinnacle's new software, WebInstall 5.01 (30MB download) works fine (some quirks with the channel config, but it works). It even worked with default Win2k VIA support.

So... guesses anyone?
Back to top
Arawn



Joined: 24 Aug 2002
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was the one that posted above, don't know why it posted it as Guest...
Anyway...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
RobM
Hardware Support Developer


Joined: 05 Mar 2002
Posts: 1903
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DScaler 3.x and (some versions of) the btwincap drivers do not work together. The btwincap drivers put the BT878 into powersafe state.

DScaler 4 is able to wake up the BT878 again and does work just fine with the btwincap drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arawn



Joined: 24 Aug 2002
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2002 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, DScaler 4 seems to work just fine, thx.

What is interesting is that I managed to get it working before on the ECS board, using btwincap v5.3.0 and DScaler v3.10, using WinXP... Don't know why it decided not to work...

Anyway, thx.

I'm really looking forward to the next release of DScaler, it's a awesome program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
adjei7
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I am having similar problems. I am using the pctv rave card with winxp pro, with the latest version of dscaler, but am still getting a problem with channel scanning. I live in the uk so use PAL I, but not exactly sure what tuner it is, as it is not written anywhere.

I heard that if i go back to v3 of dscaler it would work, but here you are saying that it should work with v4, which is the one i am using.

Can you help as i would love to keep using dscaler and not the crappy pinnacle vision software

K
Back to top
adjei7
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I have managed to get it working by using the latest wdm driver, but now i cant get any sound, when the sound used to work fine. It's like it's not tuned in properly

K
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DScaler Forum Index -> DScaler Support Forum All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Get DScaler Deinterlacer/Scaler at
        SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads